We’ve just launched our new website! Some features may still be in the works – thank you for your patience as we fine-tune your experience.

136 House Reps Sign 2023 Peace Corps Funding Letter!

Following President Biden’s March 9th announcement that he is requesting $495 million for the Peace Corps in Fiscal Year 2024, Returned Peace Corps Volunteer Congressman John Garamendi (D-CA) issued the annual Peace Corps Funding Dear Colleague letter.

The letter to leaders of the House Appropriations Committee – which urges support for the president’s request – secured 136 signatures in less than one week. Four House Republicans (Bacon-NE, Molinaro-NY, Gonzalez-Colon-Puerto Rico, and Radewagen-American Samoa) signed onto this year’s letter.

Use this link to read the final letter.


Take Action:

Review the list of signers below.

If your Rep is among those who signed, visit our NPCA Action Center to send a thank you message!


Who signed the letter?

Here are the lawmakers who signed the Garamendi Peace Corps Funding Dear Colleague Letter for Fiscal Year 2024.


DEADLINE to sign on: 5:00 PM Monday, March 20, 2023 (THIS LETTER IS NOW CLOSED)

SIGNATURES as of Tuesday, March 21, 9:00 AM: 136

SIGNATURES needed to reach our goal: 10


Alabama: Sewell

American Samoa: Radewagen

Arizona: Gallego, Grijalva

California: Barragan, Bera, Brownley, Carbajal, Cardenas, Chu, Correa, Costa, DeSaulnier, Eshoo, Garamendi (Author), Huffman, Jacobs, Kamlager-Dove, Khanna, Levin, Lieu, Matsui, Napolitano, Panetta, Peters, Ruiz, Sanchez, Schiff, Swalwell, Takano, Mike Thompson, Vargas

Colorado: Crow, DeGette, Neguse

Connecticut: Courtney, Hayes, Himes, Larson

Delaware: Blunt Rochester

District of Columbia: Norton

Florida: Cherfilus-McCormick, Moskowitz, Soto, Wilson

Georgia: Bishop, Hank Johnson, McBath, David Scott, Williams

Hawai’i: Tokuda

Illinois: Budzinski, Casten, Danny Davis, Foster, Jonathan Jackson, Kelly, Krishnamoorthi

Indiana: Carson

Kansas: Davids

Maine: Golden, Pingree

Maryland: Raskin, Sarbanes

Massachusetts: Auchincloss, Keating, Lynch, McGovern, Moulton, Neal, Pressley, Trahan

Michigan: Dingell, Kildee, Slotkin, Stevens, Tlaib

Minnesota: Craig, Phillips

Missouri: Cleaver

Nebraska: Bacon

Nevada: Horsford, Titus

New Hampshire: Pappas

New Jersey: Andy Kim, Pascrell, Payne, Sherrill

New Mexico: Stansbury

New York: Bowman, Clarke, Higgins, Jones, Molinaro, Tonko, Torres, Velazquez

Northern Marianas: Sablan

North Carolina: Adams, Manning, Nickel

Ohio: Beatty, Shontel Brown

Oregon: Blumenauer, Bonamici, Hoyle, Salinas

Pennsylvania: Boyle, Evans, Houlahan, Wild

Puerto Rico: Gonzalez-Colon

Rhode Island: Cicilline, Magaziner

Tennessee: Cohen

Texas: Allred, Castro, Crockett, Doggett, Escobar, Fletcher, Vicente Gonzalez, Jackson Lee, Veasey

Virginia: Beyer, Connolly, McClellan, Spanberger, Wexton

Virgin Islands: Plaskett

Washington: DelBene, Jayapal, Larsen, Schrier, Strickland

Wisconsin: Moore



Jonathan Pearson is Director of Advocacy for National Peace Corps Association. Write him at [email protected]

Skip to content