We’ve just launched our new website! Some features may still be in the works – thank you for your patience as we fine-tune your experience.

Mobilization Continues for Senate Peace Corps Letter

While action on the annual House Peace Corps funding letter has concluded, opportunities for Senators to sign onto their version of this important letter continues. However, this is the final week for Senators to sign the letter.



A bipartisan Senate letter asking for robust funding for Peace Corps in fiscal year 2021 is co-authored by Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) and Susan Collins (R-ME).

Take Action with your Senators**

  • If you wish, you can read the Senate letter here.
  • Ask your Senator(s) to “sign the Feinstein-Collins Peace Corps funding Dear Colleague letter that is now circulating”.
  • TAKE ACTION HERE: Write and ask you Senator(s) to sign the letter (or, thank them if they already signed! – see list below).
  • Find the phone number of your Senators if you want to contact them by phone.

Deadline to sign on: Friday April 10th.

Signatures as of Tuesday, April 7, 9:00 AM: 27 (see list below)

Additional Signatures Needed to Reach Last Year’s Record: 14

(** Along with the Peace Corps letter, we encourage you to urge your Senator(s) to also sign a similar letter – being circulated by Senators Todd Young (R-IN) and Richard Durbin (D-IL), requesting strong funding for all international affairs funding, including Peace Corps)


Senators who signed the Feinstein-Collins Peace Corps Funding Dear Colleague Letter (List of Current Signers Below)

California: Feinstein (co-author)

Connecticut: Blumenthal, Murphy

Colorado: Bennet

Delaware: Carper, Coons

Hawaii: Schatz

Illinois: Duckworth

Maine: Collins (co-author), King

Maryland: Cardin, Van Hollen

Massachusetts: Warren

Michigan: Peters, Stabenow

Minnesota: Klobuchar

Nevada: Rosen

New Hampshire: Hassan, Shaheen

North Carolina: Tillis

Ohio: Brown

Oregon: Wyden

Rhode Island: Reed, Whitehouse

Vermont: Sanders

Virginia: Kaine

Washington: Cantwell



House of Representatives

The co-chairs of the House of Representatives Peace Corps Caucus, RPCVs John Garamendi (D-CA) and Joe Kennedy (D-MA), and Representative Garrett Graves (R-LA) circulated a letter that their colleagues can sign, asking that Peace Corps funding for the fiscal year that begins this coming October (FY 2021) be increased to $450 million.


Our thanks to all who reached out to their House Reps on this important action.

We await a final update on signers of this letter.

You can read the House letter here.


Lawmakers who Signed the Garamendi – Graves – Kennedy Peace Corps Funding Dear Colleague Letter (List of Current Signers Below)

Deadline to sign on: Thursday March 12, 2020 (a final signature count is still pending)

Signatures as of Thursday, March 12, 4:00 PM: 167

Additional Signatures Needed to Surpass Last Year’s Record: 15


Alabama: Sewell

Alaska: Young

American Samoa: Radewagan

Arizona: Gallego, Grijalva

California: Barragan, Bass, Bera, Brownley, Carbajal, Chu, Cisneros, Costa, Susan Davis, DeSaulniers, Eshoo, Garamendi (co-author), Harder, Khanna, LaMalfa, Barbara Lee, Mike Levin, Lieu, Lofgren, Lowenthal, Matsui, McNerney, Napolitano, Panetta, Scott Peters, Porter, Rouda, Roybal-Allard, Sanchez, Schiff, Speier, Swalwell, Takano, Vargas, Waters


Colorado: DeGette, Neguse, Perlmutter, Tipton

Connecticut: Courtney, DeLauro, Hayes, Himes, Larson

Delaware: Blunt Rochester

District of Columbia: Norton

Florida: Castor, Deutch, Hastings, Murphy, Shalala

Georgia: Bishop, Hank Johnson, Lewis, David Scott

Hawaii: Gabbard

Illinois: Bustos, Casten, Davis, Foster, Garcia, Kelly, Lipinski, Rush, Schakowsky, Schneider

Indiana: Carson

Iowa: Steve King, Loebsack

Kansas: Davids

Kentucky: Barr, Yarmuth

Louisiana: Graves (co-author)

Maine: Golden, Pingree

Maryland: Brown, Raskin, Ruppersberger, Sarbanes, Trone

Massachusetts: Kennedy (co-author), Keating, Lynch, McGovern, Moulton, Pressley, Trahan

Michigan: Dingell, Kildee, Andy Levin, Slotkin, Tlaib

Minnesota: Craig, Peterson, Phillips

Mississippi: Thompson

Nevada: Horsford, Lee, Titus

New Hampshire: Kuster, Pappas

New Jersey: Gottheimer, Kim, Malinowski, Pallone, Pascrell Jr., Payne Jr., Sires, Chris Smith, Van Drew

New Mexico: Haaland

New York: Clarke, Delgado, Engel, Espaillat, Higgins, Katko, Sean Patrick Maloney, Meeks, Morelle, Rice, Suozzi, Tonko, Velazquez

North Carolina: Adams, Butterfield

Northern Marianas: Sablan

Ohio: Beatty

Oregon: Blumenauer, Bonamici, DeFazio

Pennsylvania: Boyle, Evans, Fitzpatrick, Wild

Puerto Rico: Gonzalez-Colon

Rhode Island: Ciciline

Tennessee: Cohen

Texas: Allred, Castro, Doggett, Escobar, Vicente Gonzalez, Green, Jackson-Lee, Veasey, Vela

Vermont: Welch

Virginia: Beyer, Connolly, Luria, McEachin, Spanberger, Wexton

Washington: DelBene, Heck, Jayapal, Larsen, Schrier, Adam Smith

Wisconsin: Kind, Moore

Skip to content